Ballet Classes, Dance, Students, Uncategorized

The worst thing

I have a class of teenagers, at a school in Porto, that has a very rude temperament. To contextualize, I only began these classes in this school in september. They had other teacher that left during the summer. When I arrived, beside the adaptation that is always hard for children, I noticed they were all very bad behaved. Of course I can’t  allow some behaviours in my class. The begginnig was hard because I was imposing many rules that they didn’t have before. But now, some months have passed and they are all amazing, polite and focused students. Except this one class of teenagers…

They have between 10 and 13, which are terrible ages and they are lazy, really lazy. Every class is a battle because they like to measure forces with me. Of course I don’t give them a chance but, it’s really exhausting. 

Yesterday they were supposed to have two classes: Floor Barre and Grade 6. They don’t like Floor Barre and they do everything that is possible to be late for that. Of course, if they are late, they miss the warm up and I don’t let them do the class without proper warm up. So, I make them sit through the entire class. And it was one of those days, so, I started Grade 6 with a lecture, reforcing the importance of Floor Barre and also pointing out how rude they were. The class started with a heavy mood. When they were already at the centre, I asked for the Adage and one of the students said: “do I really have to do it?”

That was it, I couldn’t fight it anymore. Everyclass, she is the worst in terms of behaviour. It was the moment I said to myself “I quit”. And I replied to her: “Beatriz, I’m only telling you this one thing: the only thing worst than having a teacher that is always lecturing you or correcting you, is to have a teacher that has lost her interest in you. And, now, I tell you, no, you don’t have to do the exercise. Do has you wish.” Can you believe she actually sat on the floor after that? The rest of the class was so straight and focused, I couldn’t believe that girl was doing that… 

It was definitely my breakup point, I couldn’t continue to believe in someone who acted like this over and over again. 

Students, believe that, if your teachers correct you or lecture you or push you beyond your limits, that’s because they believe in you, they have faith your potential!! Work with them and you will be amazed of your achievings. Because, behind every dancer who believes in himself, there’s always a teacher who believed first. 

Leave a Reply

