Uncategorized

Enough is enough

For the past 5 years i’ve been teaching ballet in a small kindergarden near my hometown. I started in a small dance room, with mirror and barres, but the floor was too hard for ballet and the ceiling was falling appart because of the rain. The room was could and there were anta everywere… Everytime I talked to the principal, he would say that it was a transitory situation because they were about to buy a new place for all the activities (ballet, karate, etc…). And, like that, the years passed… Last year (without the new classroom), I said I was tired of the situation and they decided to do some construction work in the room (yey!!!). Except, they transformed it in a small school library. So, by the end of the year, I was moving the shelfs before and after every class to adjust the room to my porposes. This year (in October 2015), they contacted me again and I said I needed conditions. Problem solved, they said I could teach in a gym nearby. “Great! Problem solved” were my thoughts. Of course they had to ruin it. It’s a 5 minute walk form the gym to the kindergarden (a bit more when you are walking with a group of three year old’s) and they asked me to be the one accompaniyng the children from one place to the other. It is worth mentioning that I teach three classes without breaks and the I drive for 10 km to teach at another school. So, with the time lost with those walks, the time of the class is shorter than it would be without all that walking… Now, think about the rain, wind, cold. It’s not easy. And, every single time I would get to the kindergarden to pick them, they weren’t even ready. I had to be the one to help them. Yesterday, the principal had the nerves to tell me: “You know, you have to teach the class for the expected time. The parents are complaining that the children don’t have ballet for a whole hour” and I politely ansewered “I know, it’s not my job picking up the children, help them get dressed and protect them from the cold and the rain. You said the situation would be solved years ago…”And the discussion went on and on. He said I needed to be patient and collaborate more. I say it’s time to scream “enough is enough”! After writing all this I realized I’ve been a fool for too long… And, you know, it’s not even worth what they pay me. It seems that, if you have a good heart, if you are a good person, people will abuse. Well, not anymore!

Leave a Reply

